Advice for aspiring, technical product managers

Advice for aspiring, technical product managers

Based on a career in tech support, pre-sales, and 12 years in Product.

This week I was invited to share my experience and advice for a Product Management Bootcamp with the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Guwahati.

Product Matters is a complete certified Bootcamp on Product management to kickstart your PM career! By the way, It's completely free of cost!

image.png

My talk was about being customer-focused, and I threw in some career tips for getting started, and how best to "Live in the customer's shoes."

I don't know if it was recorded, but I do have the slides, and I thought I'd share them here.

If you just want to skip ahead to where I share my tips on Social Media, Blogging, YouTube, and sharing content - jump to Slides 22-24.

More resources

I've talked about career and product management stuff a good bit on the thatjeffsmith blog, you can find those posts here.

Most recently, I had a nice chat with Oracle ACE Director Rob Lockard on his YouTube series of interviews with Oracle folks. You can watch that here -